Checking accounts
Checking accounts ranked by what they cost or pay in a year for an everyday customer: fees after any waiver you’d meet, interest, and any bonus.
Sorted by: yearly value for $2,000 kept, with no direct deposit, over a year. The rate is the bank’s published APY for that balance; each row links the bank’s own page and says when we checked it. Data as of Oct 10, 2026. Updated .
Bank bonuses · Find the bonuses you can get
- MyDesign CheckingLangley · source · checked Oct 10, 2026A year$75FeeNoneTo openMinimum to open not statedBonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- A year$61FeeNoneTo openNoneBonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- Max-Rate Checking AccountMorgan Stanley Private Bank · source · checked Oct 10, 2026A year$40FeeNoneTo openNoneBonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- Simple Checking AccountApple Bank · source · checked Oct 10, 2026A year$20FeeNoneTo open$100BonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- Rewards Checking AccountAmerican Express National Bank · source · checked Oct 10, 2026$300 bonus not reached: Open your first American Express Rewards Checking Account in your name by 02/01/2027, subject to approval, and have a total of $7,500 or more of Qualifying Direct Deposit(s) po · $300 bonus not reached: requirements not metA year$20FeeNoneTo openNoneBonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- Consumer Interest CheckingConnectOne Bank · source · checked Oct 10, 2026A year$20Fee$10a monthTo open$1,000BonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- Interest CheckingBankers Trust Company · source · checked Oct 10, 2026A year$14Fee$15a monthTo open$1,500BonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- SoFi Checking AccountSoFi Bank · source · checked Oct 10, 2026$400 bonus not reached: Set up your first Eligible Direct Deposit, which SoFi must receive on or before 12/31/26; after SoFi receives and recognizes your first Eligible Direct Deposit of $1 or more, t · +$25 if a current customer refers you (SoFi Bank Referral Program — Standard Bonus ($75 tier))A year$10FeeNoneTo openNoneBonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- Provident Smart CheckingProvident Bank · source · checked Oct 10, 2026A year$10FeeNoneTo open$50BonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- Priority - Everyday CheckingAmerican Airlines · source · checked Oct 10, 2026Membership limited: employer, familyA year$8FeeNoneTo openMinimum to open not statedBonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- Tailored CheckingHappen Bank · source · checked Oct 10, 2026A year$5Fee$10a monthTo open$100BonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- Online Checking AccountAmalgamated Bank · source · checked Oct 10, 2026A year$5FeeNoneTo open$100BonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- EverBank Performance CheckingEverBank · source · checked Oct 10, 2026A year$5FeeNoneTo open$100BonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- Ascend CheckingAmerican Airlines · source · checked Oct 10, 2026Also at this rate: Flagship - Premium Checking, Ascend - Checking Simplified, UChecking, Flagship CheckingMembership limited: employer, familyA year$5FeeNoneTo openMinimum to open not statedBonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- Free PFFCU Checking AccountPolice & Fire · source · checked Oct 10, 2026Membership limited: employer, geographyA year$5FeeNoneTo openMinimum to open not statedBonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- PROGRESA ACCOUNTOriental Bank · source · checked Oct 10, 2026A year$4Fee$5a monthTo open$100BonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- Choice CheckingWoodforest National Bank · source · checked Oct 10, 2026A year$3Fee$7.5a monthTo open$25BonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- Dividend CheckingService · source · checked Oct 10, 2026A year$3Fee$10a monthTo openMinimum to open not statedBonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- Smart Checking PlusRoyal · source · checked Oct 10, 2026membership: Make a $5.00 donation to the RCU Foundation · not stated: APY not stated; the interest rate is usedA year$5Fee$10a monthTo openMinimum to open not statedBonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- Smart CheckingRoyal · source · checked Oct 10, 2026membership: Make a $5.00 donation to the RCU Foundation · not stated: APY not stated; the interest rate is usedA year$5FeeNoneTo openMinimum to open not statedBonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- Checking PlusSouthside Bank · source · checked Oct 10, 2026A year$2Fee$9a monthTo openMinimum to open not statedBonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- Extreme CheckingStock Yards Bank & Trust Company · source · checked Oct 10, 2026A year$2Fee$5a monthTo open$50BonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- Regular CheckingCommunity First · source · checked Oct 10, 2026A year$2Fee$5a monthTo open$5BonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- STAR PLUS CHECKINGTexas Capital Bank · source · checked Oct 10, 2026A year$2FeeNoneTo openMinimum to open not statedBonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- Spending AccountAlly Bank · source · checked Oct 10, 2026$150 bonus not reached: Open a new Ally Bank Spending Account using promo code SPEND150, add money to the account, and receive Qualifying Direct Deposits of at least $1,000 per month for two consecuti · $200 bonus not reached: Open a new Ally Bank Spending Account using promo code SPEND200, add money within 30 days of opening, and receive Qualifying Direct Deposits of at least $1,000 a month for two · $300 bonus not reached: Open a new Ally Bank Spending Account using promo code SPENDING50X6, add money within 30 days of opening, and receive Qualifying Direct Deposits of at least $1,000 a month forA year$2FeeNoneTo openNoneBonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- STAR CHECKINGTexas Capital Bank · source · checked Oct 10, 2026A year$2FeeNoneTo openMinimum to open not statedBonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- ONE AccountIndependent Bank · source · checked Oct 10, 2026A year$2Fee$3a monthTo open$10BonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- Complete CheckingOriental Bank · source · checked Oct 10, 2026A year$2Fee$2a monthTo open$250BonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- America's Best CheckingBell Bank · source · checked Oct 10, 2026A year$2FeeNoneTo open$50BonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- Beacon One CheckingBeacon Bank and Trust · source · checked Oct 10, 2026A year$2FeeNoneTo open$10BonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- Simple CheckingCambridge Savings Bank · source · checked Oct 10, 2026A year$2FeeNoneTo open$10BonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- Rewards CheckingUniversity Of Wisconsin · source · checked Oct 10, 2026Membership limited: employer, family, geography, organizationA year$2FeeNoneTo openNoneBonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- Community Hero CheckingSouthState Bank · source · checked Oct 10, 2026not stated: APY not stated; the interest rate is usedA year$2FeeNoneTo openMinimum to open not statedBonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- Choice CheckingSouthState Bank · source · checked Oct 10, 2026not stated: APY not stated; the interest rate is usedA year$2Fee$8a monthTo openNoneBonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- Performance Plus CheckingColumbia Bank · source · checked Oct 10, 2026A year$1Fee$20a monthTo open$0.01BonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
- A year$1FeeNoneTo openNoneBonusNo bonus this customer would qualify for
Rates change often; the bank’s own page is the final word. We sort by the measure named above and nothing else, and no link here pays us. How we make money