No link on this page pays us. When one does, it says so, and it never changes a ranking. How we make money

GreenstateChecking accountChecked Oct 10, 2026Updated

Greenstate GrowGreen Checking with Debit Card

3.00%APY · as of Oct 10, 2026
A year for an everyday customer
$0 fees and interest, $2,000 kept
Monthly fee
Monthly fee not stated
To open
$50 to open
On our list
#63 of 986 checking accounts, by a year’s value for an everyday customer
Visit GreenstateThe bank’s own page · checked Oct 10, 2026

Rates by balance

BalanceAPY
$0 to $19,999.993.00%
$20,000 and up0.01%

Source: the bank’s rates · as of Oct 10, 2026

Rate conditions

To earn the APY
maintain a minimum average daily balance of $1,000.00
  • make 15 debit/credit card purchases of $15.00 or more per purchase
  • receive automatic deposit or withdrawals (ACH) totaling a minimum of $500.00
Source · checked Oct 10, 2026
APY when those aren’t met
0.01%Source · checked Oct 10, 2026
Interest compounds
MonthlySource · checked Oct 10, 2026

Fees

Ways to avoid the monthly fee
Not enrolled in eStatements - $3.50*/MonthSource · checked Oct 10, 2026
Minimum to open
$50Source · checked Oct 10, 2026
Overdraft fee
$29Source · checked Oct 10, 2026
Returned item (NSF) fee
$29Source · checked Oct 10, 2026
Overdraft transfer fee
$5Source · checked Oct 10, 2026
Most overdraft fees in a day
5Source · checked Oct 10, 2026
Out-of-network ATM fee
$2.50Source · checked Oct 10, 2026
International ATM fee
$2.50Source · checked Oct 10, 2026
Foreign transaction fee (debit card)
2%Source · checked Oct 10, 2026
Incoming domestic wire
$10Source · checked Oct 10, 2026
Outgoing domestic wire
$25Source · checked Oct 10, 2026
Paper statements
$3.50 a monthSource · checked Oct 10, 2026
Inactivity fee
$7Source · checked Oct 10, 2026
Early closure fee
$25Source · checked Oct 10, 2026
Cashier’s check
$7Source · checked Oct 10, 2026
Stop payment
$29Source · checked Oct 10, 2026

Who can open it

Availability
Exclusively offered in select regions*.Source · checked Oct 10, 2026
Membership
Membership required:
  • Living or working in Iowa, or nearby counties in Illinois, Wisconsin, Nebraska, or South Dakota.
  • University of Iowa students, staff, and alumni.
  • Direct relatives of current GreenState members.
  • Members of the Iowa Consumer Council and American Consumer Council.
Source · checked Oct 10, 2026
Minimum age
16Source · checked Oct 10, 2026

Features

Debit cardInterest bearing

From the bank’s own pages. A feature not listed may still be offered: we list only what the bank states.

Rates and fees change; the bank’s own page is the final word. Not all of this account’s figures are on record yet (monthly fee missing). Report a mistake · How we make money · Not stated: 2 items counted at typical fees